India in Global Science

Multilateral Cooperations

In order to leverage the collective cooperative action by states to address common challenges collaboratively, India fosters numerous regional and multilateral engagements and partnerships in the fields of Science and Technology. These engagements are done through cooperation frameworks at inter-governmental level with a view to make positive contributions for gainful consequences and spin offs for:

i. Enlarging India's pursuit of influence in global arena/platforms and mainstreaming Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) into international diplomacy and foreign relations;
ii. Showcasing and projecting India's scientific excellence in the global research landscape;
iii. Using foreign alliances and partnerships to accelerate key priorities and programs devoted to strengthening India's national science and technology (S&T)/ Research and Development (R&D) competencies-capabilities-access to technologies in synergies with national flagship program including skill India, Digital India, Make in India, Swatch Bharat, Swasthya Bharat, Start-up India etc.
India collaborates closely with major groups of countries through multilateral cooperation.

Multiletral Coopreations

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Countries: Thailand, Indonesia, Viet Nam, Singapore, Malaysia, Philippines, Myanmar, Cambodia, Lao People's Republic, Brunei Darussalam

Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC)

Countries: India, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Nepal, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand

Belmont Forum

Countries: Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, China, European Commission, France, Germany, India, Japan, Norway, South Africa, UK, and USA

BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa)

Countries: Brazil, Russia, India, China, South Africa

EU (European Union)

Countries: Australia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, United Kingdom


Countries: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Korea-(ROK), Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America, European Union (EU)

South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

Countries: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Maldives, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

TWAS (The World Academy of Sciences)

Countries: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, India, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, lajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan