Multilateral Cooperations

EU (European Union)

The India-EU Science & Technology (S&T) Cooperation is guided by principle of parity, symmetry, sharing of IPRs (Intellectual Property Rights) and co-investment of resources including funds. The India-EU S&T Cooperation is steered by India-EU S&T Ministers and India-EU Joint S&T Steering Committee. The India-EU Joint Declaration on Research and Innovation was signed in 2012 during 12th India-EU Summit in New Delhi which gave thrust to resolving societal challenges in the field of health, water, energy, bio-economy through research and innovation.

Since 2001, several India-EU R&D projects have been implemented with the funding of 46.5 Million Euros by European Commission and European Union Member States that has been matched by Ministry of Science & Technology (DST, DBT). These projects are in areas of Computational Science, Solar Energy and Smart Grids, Wastewater Treatment and Drinking Water Purification, Biotechnology, health, Bio-based Energy, Bio-economy, among others. India-EU Thematic Workshops have helped in exchanging state-of-the-art knowledge and networking of research institutions/ scientist. 

The projects have led to generation of critical mass of researchers and joint scientific publications in frontier areas of S&T. An implementation arrangement was signed between the Science and Engineering Board (SERB) of India and European Commission to provide opportunities in Europe for Indian researchers and stimulate co-knowledge through co-learning and mentoring. Thus students and researchers supported by SERB would get the opportunity to visit Europe for 6-12 months and team up with the European Research Council (ERC) supported project. 

Countries: Australia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, United Kingdom