India in Global Science

India's International Fellows

The government of India has taken several initiatives towards the international exposure of scientists working in India in addition to providing lucrative incentives to bring back the eminent scientists to the country vis-a-vis implementation of several International Fellowship Programmes / Schemes.

These International Fellowships include:

i) Fellowships for attracting highly skilled, outstanding researchers and scientists of Indian origin working abroad by providing them an attractive avenue to pursue their R&D interests in Indian Institutions.

ii) Fellowships providing opportunities to the best and brightest Indian students/ researchers / scientists to go abroad and gain exposure to world class research facilities and peers in leading institutions, thereby helping to build long-term R&D linkages and collaborations.

iii) Besides these, Indian scientists regularly apply for other international fellowships and their contributions are significant in the international arena.

These efforts have helped develop a pool of talents who are helping in the furtherance of excellence in science in the country. This Section provides information regarding the scholars honoured with these International Fellowships, the year of award, their affiliations and their area of work. It includes information regarding scholars like Ramanujan Fellows, Ramalingaswami Fellows, Wellcome Trust/DBT India Alliance Fellows, Fulbrighters, Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP) Fellows, Indo-Australia Early and Mid-Career Researchers (EMCR) and so on...

India International Talents

Total number of Record(s): 510
Awardee Fellowship Name Year Affiliation Specialisation
Rachel Akkanad Varghese Fulbright Fellow 2021 Kerala Council for Historical Research (KCHR), Thiruvananthapuram; University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia Absences in the Contemporary: A Theoretical Exploration of the Concept of Absence with a Focus on Post-Colonial India
Prasad Valiyamadom Sudhakara Sarma Fulbright Fellow 2021 Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Thiruvananthapuram; University of Oregon, Eugene “Topological Insulator Based Heterostructures for Electrocatalytic Hydrogen Production”
Naina Arora Fulbright Fellow 2021 Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Mandi; University Of California, Riverside The Impact of Endocannabinoids and Novel Lipid Mediators in Host-Helminth Communication and the Role of Macrophages in Immune Response
Shambhavi Singh Fulbright Fellow 2021 Independent Researcher, New Delhi Harvard University, Cambridge NA
Nishant Singh Fulbright Fellow 2021 Harappa Education, New Delhi; Harvard University, Cambridge NA
Manoj Shrivastava Fulbright Fellow 2021 ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute (ICAR-IARI), New Delhi; The University of Texas, El Paso Dynamics of nano-TiO2 in the rice ecosystems
Seema Ravandale Fulbright Fellow 2021 People’s Science Institute, Dehradun; University of Massachusetts-Amherst, Amherst People’s Science Institute, Dehradun; University of Massachusetts-Amherst, Amherst
Stephen Rajan Samuel Fulbright Fellow 2021 Kasturba Medical College (KMC), Mangalore, Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE), Mangaluru; University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester “An Interval Training Exercise Program to Improve Health Behavior and Oncological Outcomes in Cancer Survivors Post Chemotherapy and Radiotherapy”
Priyabrata Pradhan Fulbright Fellow 2021 Independent scholar, Delhi; Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge “Research and Co-Design of an Inclusive Waste-to-Energy Process”
Niket Satish Kaisare Fulbright Fellow 2021 Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Madras, Chennai; University of Minnesota, Twin Cities A Combined Catalyst-and-Reactor Design Framework for Catalytic Reduction of CO2