India in Global Science

India's International Fellows

The government of India has taken several initiatives towards the international exposure of scientists working in India in addition to providing lucrative incentives to bring back the eminent scientists to the country vis-a-vis implementation of several International Fellowship Programmes / Schemes.

These International Fellowships include:

i) Fellowships for attracting highly skilled, outstanding researchers and scientists of Indian origin working abroad by providing them an attractive avenue to pursue their R&D interests in Indian Institutions.

ii) Fellowships providing opportunities to the best and brightest Indian students/ researchers / scientists to go abroad and gain exposure to world class research facilities and peers in leading institutions, thereby helping to build long-term R&D linkages and collaborations.

iii) Besides these, Indian scientists regularly apply for other international fellowships and their contributions are significant in the international arena.

These efforts have helped develop a pool of talents who are helping in the furtherance of excellence in science in the country. This Section provides information regarding the scholars honoured with these International Fellowships, the year of award, their affiliations and their area of work. It includes information regarding scholars like Ramanujan Fellows, Ramalingaswami Fellows, Wellcome Trust/DBT India Alliance Fellows, Fulbrighters, Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP) Fellows, Indo-Australia Early and Mid-Career Researchers (EMCR) and so on...

India International Talents

Total number of Record(s): 17
Awardee Fellowship Name Year Affiliation Specialisation
Professor Neena Gupta Ramanujan Prize 2021 Indian Statistical Institute in Kolkata Algebraic geometry and commutative algebra
Carolina Araujo Ramanujan Prize 2020 Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics (IMPA) in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Algebraic geometry
Professor Hoang Hiep Pham Ramanujan Prize 2019 Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology, Hanoi Pluripotential theory
Ritabrata Munshi Ramanujan Prize 2018 Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata, India and the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, India Number Theory
Eduardo Teixeira Ramanujan Prize 2017 Federal University of Ceará, Brazil Analysis and Partial Differential Equations
Chenyang Xu Ramanujan Prize 2016 Beijing International Center of Mathematical Research, China Algebraic geometry, Birational geometry
Dr Amalendu Krishna Ramanujan Prize 2015 Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), India Algebraic K-theory, Algebraic cycles and the Theory of motives
Dr Miguel Walsh Ramanujan Prize 2014 NA Ergodic Theory and Number Theory
Professor Ye Tian Ramanujan Prize 2013 Academy of Mathematics and Systems Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences Number Theory
Fernando Codá Marques Ramanujan Prize 2012 Instituto Nacional de Matematica Pura e Aplicada, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Differential Geometry