India in Global Science

India's International Fellows

The government of India has taken several initiatives towards the international exposure of scientists working in India in addition to providing lucrative incentives to bring back the eminent scientists to the country vis-a-vis implementation of several International Fellowship Programmes / Schemes.

These International Fellowships include:

i) Fellowships for attracting highly skilled, outstanding researchers and scientists of Indian origin working abroad by providing them an attractive avenue to pursue their R&D interests in Indian Institutions.

ii) Fellowships providing opportunities to the best and brightest Indian students/ researchers / scientists to go abroad and gain exposure to world class research facilities and peers in leading institutions, thereby helping to build long-term R&D linkages and collaborations.

iii) Besides these, Indian scientists regularly apply for other international fellowships and their contributions are significant in the international arena.

These efforts have helped develop a pool of talents who are helping in the furtherance of excellence in science in the country. This Section provides information regarding the scholars honoured with these International Fellowships, the year of award, their affiliations and their area of work. It includes information regarding scholars like Ramanujan Fellows, Ramalingaswami Fellows, Wellcome Trust/DBT India Alliance Fellows, Fulbrighters, Human Frontier Science Program (HFSP) Fellows, Indo-Australia Early and Mid-Career Researchers (EMCR) and so on...

India International Talents

Total number of Record(s): 17
Awardee Fellowship Name Year Affiliation Specialisation
Philibert Nang Ramanujan Prize 2011 Laboratorie de Recherche en Mathematiques (LAREMA), Libreville, Gabon Algebraic theory of D-modules
Yuguang Shi Ramanujan Prize 2010 School of Mathematical Sciences, Peking University, China Geometry
Ernesto Lupercio Ramanujan Prize 2009 CINVESTAV, Instituto Politécnico Nacional, Mexico Algebraic topology, Geometry and Mathematical physics
Enrique R. Pujals Ramanujan Prize 2008 Instituto Nacional de Matemática Pura e Aplicada (IMPA), Brazil Robust dynamics
Jorge Lauret Ramanujan Prize 2007 Universidad Nacional de Córdoba, Argentina Differential Geometry
Sujatha Ramdorai Ramanujan Prize 2006 Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), India Arithmetic of algebraic varieties and non-Commutative Iwasawa theory
Marcelo Viana Ramanujan Prize 2005 Instituto Nacional de Matemática Pura e Aplicada (IMPA), Brazil Dynamical systems