Department of Space (DoS)

The Department of Space aims at harnessing the space technology for national development, while pursuing space science research and planetary exploration

The Department of Space (DOS) has the primary objective of promoting development and application of Space Science and Technology to assist in all-round development of the nation. The Government of India constituted the Space Commission and established the DOS in June, 1972 and brought ISRO under DOS in September 1972. The Space Commission formulates the policies and supervises the implementation of the Indian space programme to promote the development and application of space science and technology for the socio-economic benefit of the country. DOS implements its programmes mainly through Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), National Atmospheric Research Laboratory (NARL), North Eastern-Space Applications Centre (NE-SAC) and Semi-Conductor Laboratory (SCL). The Antrix Corporation, a government owned company, markets the space products and services.

The Secretariat of DOS and ISRO Headquarters are located at Antariksh Bhavan in Bangalore. Programme offices at ISRO Headquarters coordinate the programmes like satellite communication, earth observation, launch vehicle, space science, disaster management support, sponsored research scheme, contracts management, international cooperation, safety, reliability, publications and public relations, budget & economic analysis, civil engineering and human resources development.

The mandates of the Ministry are:
  • Development of launch vehicle programme having indigenous capability for launching spacecrafts.
  • Developing the Indian National Satellite System (INSAT) Programmes for telecommunications, broadcasting, meteorology, development of education etc.
  • Developing remote sensing programmes for application of satellite imagery for various developmental purposes.
  • Research and development in space sciences and technology for serving the end of applying them for national development.

Organisations - Autonomous Institute - DoS & ISRO

ISRO Centres