Indian Institute of Science (IISc)

Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore

Since its inception, the Institute has laid a balanced emphasis on the pursuit of basic knowledge in science and engineering, as well as on the application of its research findings for industrial and social benefit. The faculty of the Institute undertakes a large number of research projects funded by various agencies, including the Department of Science and Technology (DST), the Department of Biotechnology (DBT), the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), the Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO), the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology,and many other organizations, in the public and the private sectors. The Institute is active in a broad spectrum of research, in science and in engineering, and maintains a high annual publication output. Several faculty members of the Institute have won national and international awards and honours in recognition of their contributions to the growth of knowledge in science and engineering. Among the current faculty members, there are 93 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Awardees, 114 INSA fellows, 117 IASc Fellows, 81 NASI fellows, 72 INAE fellows, and 70 J.C. Bose National Fellows, which is indicative of the high level of academic excellence of the Institute faculty.

Research Areas: Physical Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Life Sciences & Biotechnology, Mathematical Sciences, Engineering Sciences

Contact Name: Anurag Kumar, Director

Contact Address: Indian Institute of ScienceBangalore 560 012, INDIA

State: Karnataka

Contact Phone: 91 80 2293 2228

Fax: 91 - 80 - 2360 0683/0085