Department of Atomic Energy (DAE)

The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) came into being on August 3, 1954. The Secretary to the Government of India in the DAE is ex-officio Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission.  The department has been engaged in the development of nuclear power technology, applications of radiation technologies in the fields of agriculture, medicine, industry and basic research.

It comprises five research centers, three industrial organizations, five public sector undertakings and three service organizations. It has under its aegis two boards for promoting and funding extra-mural research in nuclear and allied fields, mathematics and a national institute (deemed university). It also supports eight institutes of international repute engaged in research in basic sciences, astronomy, astrophysics, cancer research and education.

Organisations - Autonomous Institute - DAE

Autonomous Organisations