S&T Awards

DST-ICTP Ramanujan Prize in Mathematics

The Ramanujan Prize for young mathematicians from developing countries has been awarded annually since 2005. It was originally instituted by ICTP, the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund, and IMU. The participation of the Abel Fund ended in 2012. DST, Govt. of India has agreed to fund the Prize for a 5 year period, starting with the 2014 Prize. The Prize is awarded annually to a researcher from a developing country who is less than 45 years of age and who has conducted outstanding research in a developing country in any branch of Mathematical Sciences. The Prize carries a US$ 15,000 cash award. The winner is invited to ICTP to receive the Prize and deliver a lecture. The Prize is usually awarded to one person, but may be shared equally among recipients who have contributed to the same body of work. The Selection Committee takes into account the scientific quality of the research as well as the background of the candidate and the environment in which the work was carried out. The Committee favours candidates who have overcome adversity to achieve distinction in Mathematics.

Target Group: Faculty and Scientists

Funding Organization: International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP); Department of Science & Technology (DST), Govt. of India; International Mathematical Union (IMU)

Area: Mathematical Sciences

International:(Country/ Brain Gain): International

Purpose: Awards