Major Achievements

Seismological Services

The national seismological network under National Centre for Seismology has been upgraded to 84 digital observatories to enable an earthquake of magnitude greater than 3 anywhere in the country to be located within 3-5 minutes. Currently, the second phase of upgradation is on, which envisages installation of 32 new stations and upgradation of 6 existing stations. By the end of the year 2017, a total of 116 stations will be a part of the national network. These observatories are being integrated with Operational Centre through VSAT communication facility established under the Indian Seismic and GNSS Network (ISGN).